Music Tapes – 8.16.2008 @ Athens PopFest

I have a confession to make.  Before this set, I had never listened to a single Music Tapes composition.  Yes, seeing Julian Koster, Scott Spillane, and the rest of the E6 crew on stage was phenomenal.  Yes, the singing saw is an interesting curiosity.  Yes, the march of several hundred kazoo players down Hancock at 2 a.m. was a surreal experience.  Yet I got the feeling many in the near-capacity 40 Watt crowd that night were there due to the band members themselves, and not the music they were making.  (This was evidenced by the constant chatter during Julian’s solo tunes on the banjo.)

Yet, after the show, several friends were making comments along the lines of “best musical experience of my life”.  This left me thinking, “I must have missed something”, so I dutifully picked up a vinyl copy of Music Tapes for Clouds and Tornadoes, released this week.  After a few private listenings to both this and the live set, I finally understand what they hype is about.  These lonely yet powerful melodies run in circles and play games with your personality, leaving you happily content and in a state of melancholy, all at the same time.  Go grab up a copy from Merge or your local record store now!  You won’t be disappointed.

Here’s the show in all of it’s chaotic glory.  Several songs are unreleased, so I made a guess at the titles.  (Also, Yetter is planning to add the audio to his video capture.  Keep an eye on the E6 boards for details.)

The Music Tapes
Athens Popfest
40 Watt Club, Athens, GA

Source:  Microtech Gefell M300’s > Lunatec V3 (opti-mod) > M-Audio MicroTrack II >
CF > Adobe Audition > CDWave > Flac16
Taped by:  Lance Stack (inthistube [at]

1. “Secret to Snowing”
2. The Television Tells Us
3. The Minister of Longitude
4. Kolyada #1
5. An Orchistration’s Overture
6. Song For The Death Of Parents
7. Song For Ocean’s Falling
8. Majesty
9. Aliens
10. ?
11. Manifest Destiny
12. “Secret to Snowing” Reprise
(Post Show)
13. Julian’s Marching Kazoo Army > The Passing of the Bell

MP3s of the full show are available via sendspace.

FLACs are available as a torrent over on DIME.

Posted under 2. E6,40 Watt Club, Athens, GA,Athens Popfest,GA Artists by admin on Friday 22 August 2008 at 12:46 pm


  1. Comment by john — August 22, 2008 @ 7:44 pm

    thank you soooooooooooo much, I’ve been checking this site for a few days waiting for this one.

  2. Comment by Andrew — August 23, 2008 @ 9:24 am

    Thanks a bunch!

  3. Comment by Fatzers — April 14, 2009 @ 1:09 am

    heyy could you please make at least the mp3s available again? thanks so much in advance!

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.